Silverstone half marathon experience 

Yesterday I finally complete my half marathon at silverstone race track. The day started very early, I woke up at 7 and had 3 slices of peanut butter on toast for breakfast with a cup of coffee. My mum picked me up at 8.30 to start the journey, we needed to be there at half 10 but the traffic going into the circuit is horrendous so we was worried we might be late if we left any later. We arrived very early which worried me slightly as I was loosing the energy from my breakfast but this is something to learn from. We were starting around for a few hours and going back and forth to the toilet as I’ve had problems during training with needed to go whilst running. 

When the race started I aimed to finish in 2 and half hours. I managed to keep up with the pacer to around 3 miles, until I got too hot so I raced to the toilet to take of layers underneath. I wasn’t used to running in heat due to training mainly over the winter for this half marathon. I then ran until around 8 miles until my knee really started giving me problems and a few hills come up. I walked up the hills and Abit more as it wasn’t hurting my knee as much walking due to lower impact. By the time I got to mile 9 I was running again as I know at mile 10 I was able to see my loved ones and gain some motivation from them. I completed the race in 3 hours. I thought I did very well considering I had very bad knee pain and i was sick throughout the race so I am very proud of myself. 

I can say I will not be running that distance again. Although I do want to carry on with 10k runs as I enjoy running this distance. 

  

2 thoughts on “Silverstone half marathon experience 

Leave a Reply

